The Narrow Way Forward

” . . . the Hebrew word for Egypt, Mitzrayim, hints at a similar word in the Hebrew, meitzarim. What is fascinating is that this second word can be translated as ‘a narrow place,’ a space that is ultimately constricting” From Chuck DeGrout, Leaving Egypt

“I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt
Leaving out what it lacked
The future seems so hard
And I want to go back
But the places that used to fit me
Cannot hold the things I’ve learned
And those roads closed off to me
While my back was turned”

Sara Groves, Painting Pictures of Egypt

 

Leave a Reply

